The Original Fifty Shades of Gray

the-story-of-o

Today I write about a book that changed my life, The Story Of O.  When I was 23 ( I am quite a bit older now) A lover of mine gave me this book. I had no idea what it was about but as he gave it to me I read it. To say it was an eye opener is an understatement.

The Story of O is an erotic novel first published in 1954 about a young Parisian fashion photographer named O who’s lover takes her to Chateau Roissy to become a “plaything” for his elite club of like minded men. She is subjected to whippings, penetration of all orifices and other S&M events. ( I will say no more as I don’t want to give away the entire plot.  It opened up a whole new world for me. I found that pleasure can be gotten from pain ( though there is a very fine line) I became more uninhibited and our sex got much hotter. It showed that in being submissive there is power, to give oneself over to pleasure in all it’s forms can be an experience beyond measure.  In 1975 a movie version of the book was made and released.                       th                                                                           

It was actually banned in the United Kingdom until the year 2000. The most amazing thing to me is that the Story of O was written by a woman! Anne Descios wrote it under the pen name of Pauline Reage as a series of love letters for her lover Jean Paulhan.  Jean was a huge fan of The Marquis De Sade. Anne did not admit to being the author until 40 years after it’s publication.  In 2004 a documentary entitled The Writer of O was made. It mixed interviews with reenacted scenes from the book. I will always be grateful to my lover for introducing this book and this world to me. It has brought me much pleasure over the years! I highly recommend it to anyone who is interested in the genre or who would like read something more truthful about the S&M world than Fifty Shades of Gray

writer-of-o

 

 

 

